Meijburg Art Commission

Tax advisory firm Meijburg & Co is the driving force behind the prestigious art prize, the Meijburg Art Commission. The prize is awarded to talented artists that will exhibit at Unseen Amsterdam through an open call by submitting a proposal for a unique artwork with a focus on photography. The winner of the Meijburg Art Commission will receive an assignment to create their submitted proposal, which will then be added to the art collection of Meijburg & Co.

2017 Winner

The 2017 winner will be announced at Unseen Amsterdam on Friday 22nd September 2017.

2016 Winner

The winner of the Meijburg Art Commission 2016 is Elspeth Diederix (1971, KE). The jury was taken by the understated complexity of her images. Upon first glance, they are striking photographs of flowers.  However at closer inspection, the viewer realises that the work has great depth. Elspeth is constructing environments and manipulating reality by creating flowers that don’t actually exist. Her work requires you to think a bit more about what is going on, and to consider the image-making process. Her work holds resonance of the famous Dutch Masters and its typical lighting. The work Elspeth Diederix created for the Meijburg & Co office in Amstelveel will be unveiled in June 2017.

International Jury

The international jury for this year's award comprises of Wilbert Kannekens (Chairman of the Managing Board of Meijburg & Co, NL), Susan Bright (curator and writer, UK) and W.M. Hunt, (lecturer on the art of collecting, adjunct professor at the School of Visual Art, New York and author, USA.)

The Meijburg Art Commission is part of a sponsorship agreement between Meijburg & Co and Unseen. As Wilbert Kannekens, chairperson of the Managing Board of Meijburg & Co explains: “Meijburg & Co is a firm that excels in encouraging and stimulating young talent. We believe that Unseen Amsterdam embodies the pursuit of innovation, an emphasis on high quality and social commitment. We wish to support young artists in their career and offer them the opportunity to excel in their chosen discipline”.

Jannemarein Renout (1969, NL), Nico Krijno (1981, ZA), Pasi Orrensalo (1969, FI), Ton Zwerver (1951, NL) and Yoshinori Mizutani (1987, JP).

Awoiska van der Molen (1972, NL), Elspeth Diederix (1971, Kenya), Motohiro Takeda (1982, JP), Yoko Ikeda (1965, JP) and Mandy Barker (1964, UK). Find out more here.

Anouk Kruithof (1981, NL), Sjoerd Knibbeler (1981, NL), Inka & Niclas (1985, Finland, 1984, Sweden), Melinda Gibson (1985, UK) and Noemie Goudal (1984, FR). Winner: Anouk Kruihof. See Anouk Kruithof's interview here.